I’m turning Japanese!

Well, okay, not completely, but hell yes tonight I FINALLY started JAPANESE!!!!

There was an interesting crowd present. There are about fifteen people in the class. Two dads with their sons, two older couples taking the class together. A woman in her forties who always looks like she’s shocked to be ANYWHERE, and the rest are dudes who are probably taking Japanese so that they will be able to masturbate to Hentai without having to read those pesky subtitles.

That’s right. I am the only girl in her twenties. Le sigh.

As per my usual ways, I sat at the front of the room. My sensei is so little. I’d go so far as to say “wittle.” She’s so wittle!

I learned some complicated terms this evening. It’s quite apparent that Japanese is VERY difficult for white people. I’ve never heard so many pronunciations of the same word in my life!

Overall, this class kicks insane amounts of ass. I love it!

15 Responses to “I’m turning Japanese!”


  1. 1 Manda Girl January 17, 2007 at 4:14 pm

    So AWESOME!!

  2. 2 Ultra Toast Mosha God January 17, 2007 at 4:51 pm

    I had also heard that it is insanely hard to learn. Apparently The alphabet contain approximately 300 characters, which can all be altered slightly to infer different meanings and ideas.

    I had enough trouble with German, let alone something as complicated as Japanese.

    Hentai Translator boys = HA!

  3. 3 High Desert Diva January 17, 2007 at 4:56 pm

    VERY cool! I want to take Korean lessons with my husband and daughter (when she’s older).

  4. 4 minus January 17, 2007 at 5:02 pm

    Japanese and Mandarin are apparently the hardest languages to learn for a non-tonal language speaker.

    I can get the “words” right in Mandarin, and the grammar’s a cinch, but I get the phrasing and the tone wrong 9 times out of ten.

    For example, depending upon inflection, “Yi shou shi”, can mean “poem” or “a handful of shit”.

    Good times to be had by all.

  5. 5 LMizzle January 17, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    Ultra: Indeed! My sensei is teaching us how to write a little bit as well just so that we can understand things like pronunciation and some of the ideas a little better. You should have seen us try and write last night, it was ridiculous!
    Also, how much German do you know? I am German! Sadly, I know only how to count. 😦
    Minus: My sensei told us that the phrase “ja mata” (which means ‘see you soon’ can mean “GET OUT OF MY GODDAMN WAY!” if you say it too fast.

    I can’t wait to hear someone say, “It was really great seeing you, now GET OUT OF MY GODDAMN WAY!”

    I wait for the day I can say “this poem is a handful of shit” to someone in Mandarin.

  6. 6 Anonymous January 17, 2007 at 9:49 pm

    Hentai is better than pugs. Be aware of this fact!

  7. 7 Princess Pointful January 18, 2007 at 1:08 am

    Whatever- I so masturbate to the Duke!

    (not that blogger- that handsome hunk of pug above!)

  8. 8 LMizzle January 18, 2007 at 2:14 am

    I bet it IS to the blogger!

    ZING!

  9. 9 Deidre January 18, 2007 at 3:06 am

    Apache is also a tonal language. We have glottal stops is sounds crazy and you make a weird sound on the sides of your mouth. Anyway, its sort of similar. There is a tribe of Chinese people who speak almost the same as Apache. Anway, when I sing in Apache, Ray says I’m singing Klingon.

    You’ll get use to it. Then it’ll be really fun!

  10. 10 LMizzle January 18, 2007 at 3:52 am

    I want to learn to sing in Klingon!

    Like, actually sing in Klingon.

    Oh baby that’d be sweet!

  11. 11 Princess Pointful January 18, 2007 at 7:08 am

    *gasp*
    Such accusations!

  12. 12 Ultra Toast Mosha God January 18, 2007 at 9:23 am

    Toast gets directions from the guidance robot in a foreign language:

    “Guten Morgan”

    “GUTEN MORGEN”

    “Wo Bisst dem krankenhaus?”

    “IN DER NAHE VON DEM BAHNHOF”

    “Danke”

    “BITTE”

  13. 13 LMizzle January 18, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    Whoa Ultra, it’s like I’m IN Germany!

  14. 14 ROENTGEN January 19, 2007 at 4:17 pm

    I mostly learned my poor japanese by watching silly animé, and learned hiragana by myself (at age of 18 when i was rrrreally bored).

    I think it’s quite easy actually – it’s just got four cases and some things you have to pay attention too. German is way more difficult 😉

  15. 15 LMizzle January 20, 2007 at 9:06 pm

    I have a life goal of learning Japanese, Spanish, French, and then if I still have some brain room left, German!

    Is German your first language, Roentgen?


Leave a Reply

January 2007
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter


