FOOD WARS!

Winston, my little English gentleman, has had the runs for a few days. I decided it was time for a food overhaul. I generally don’t like feeding my dogs dry food. It just seems…boring I guess. Same old kibble…day after day…LAAAAME!
When I got Winston, his breeder suggest I feed him the food that she had, which is always standard when you get a puppy. She fed him Eukanuba dry food, then a tiny scoop of Cesars (otherwise known as McDonald’s for dogs) and GASP! I will admit it Ol’ Roy wet food. That’s right. Wal-Mart’s dog food brand.
I have felt so dirty every time I pick up this food for Winston. It’s like I’m buying my fat brother hamburgers! I have tried switching his wet food before, but he won’t eat it! I tried Science Diet, and the little turd wouldn’t touch it! Sadly, I kept feeding him a scoop of Ol’ Roy, and axed the Cesars to avoid turning Winston into a fat tub of lard.
Not to say that my breeder isn’t EXCELLENT. I love this woman to death and I still keep in touch with her. She has around 40 pugs though, so I understand her need to feed them a less expensive wet food, especially if they get a really good dry food.
Then a week ago Winston started having little poonamis. Little squirts. I figured I’d try switching the food again to see if I can find something that Winston will eat (Zelda will eat ANYTHING), that I can feel good about feeding him, and that has all the nutrients he needs to be a strong little marshmallow-shaped dog!
I proceeded to buy three different cans of food and test them. Day 1 I went for Science Diet. Zelda gobbled hers, and so did Winston! I got so excited that I bought a flat and a half of Science Diet! Sadly, within a day Winston would no longer eat it.
Day 2 I try another dog food. Winston and Zelda eat it, but are generally not excited.
Day 3 I decide to throw caution to the wind and try the freshest dog food I can buy in a store. Zelda gobbles it! Winston gobbles it! WE HAVE A WINNER!
What’s even better is that this food is ON SALE! GLORIOUS DAY!
After consulting Amanda, I decided to stick with Deli Fresh dog food. She suggested I also try giving them a spoonfull of fat-free, plain yogurt to deal with Winston’s room-clearing gas problem! WHAT A GENIUS! It’s working!
She also suggested trying Moo! brand bully sticks for the dogs to chew on if I decide to stick with the Deli Fresh diet. Moo! bully sticks come from Free Range Brazilian cattle that graze on the lush, green fields of Brazil and drink from fresh, clear, sparkling springs and streams. They are given NO hormones, NO antibiotics, and NO animal by products are added to their diets like U.S. and Canadian cattle that are kept in feed lots (damn us Canadians and our cow antics!). I bought some of these yesterday and they are also WINNERS! They don’t stink (like bones), they don’t leave a mess (like bones), and the dogs LOVE LOVE LOVE them!
Amanda is truly my pug Jesus.
I am happy to report at least a 90% reduction in the stinkyness of my apartment since two days ago! I’m living in a fresh-air haven! Note: the other 10% of farts are from humans.
The only incident I have to report is that Steve tried to pick Zelda up and move her off of a pillow when she was eating a bully stick, when Zelda growled. Steve thought this was really funny, so he put her down and then tried to pick her up again. More growling. He did it one more time (bad idea!) when CHOMP! Zelda attatcked Steve’s hand ferociously in defence of her delicious treat! CESAR MILAN!!! WHERE ARE YOU NOW?!?! I have a killer 7-pound pug puppy in my house!!!
Don’t worry, Steve has a band-aid on and has forgiven her.
9 Responses to “FOOD WARS!”


  1. 1 My Pugs Blogger January 11, 2007 at 5:50 pm

    YEAHHHHHHH!!! 😛

    the girls love their bully sticks too! That’s awesome that things are working out – I’m so happy! The only thing with the pugs not making the stinky in the house anymore… you can’t blame them when someone walks into a room and says to you “did you toot?” cause they won’t believe that it was the dogs anymore. Damnit! That’s why I got a dog!

  2. 2 Leah January 11, 2007 at 6:09 pm

    Thanks for visiting us! Your pugs are SO CUTE–I will definitely be back!

  3. 3 Amber January 11, 2007 at 7:41 pm

    Hey! I just found you from a click over on my site stats. I love the button you made Kyla!

    I dunno if you’d consider putting your dogs on a raw diet but it:
    1) completely solved the farting and allergies for Kyla
    2) I don’t have to brush her teeth, the bones do that
    3) always good poops
    4) waaaaay cheaper than commercial dog food and no icky chemicals or preservatives or god knows what goes into them

    If you want more info, just email me, I’d be glad to share links on how to get started.

  4. 4 LMizzle January 11, 2007 at 7:52 pm

    Amber: I just wrote back to you on your blog! 🙂

  5. 5 Steve January 11, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    My hand still hurts

  6. 6 LMizzle January 11, 2007 at 9:02 pm

    Amber: Damn! To get my button up on the pet blog network I had to remove those buttons. I thought we could use those as links, but because they are from the Pet Blog Network I had to take them down. 😦

    I am going to make my own though!

  7. 7 Sandra January 12, 2007 at 3:30 am

    Winston’s not farting anymore? that’s great news, now I can come back for some Wii action…

  8. 8 Kara January 12, 2007 at 4:13 am

    You are posting faster than I can read! Glad you found something the little man can eat without dropping stinker bombs!

    On the rug situation, I totally sympathize. Kritter ate a section of carpet in my room when he was a puppy. It was cheap burbur and my landlord was a JERK, so I cut the eaten part out, cut a piece off the remnant and glued that sucker down on the hole. Probably what a real carpeter person would have done anyway!

  9. 9 LMizzle January 12, 2007 at 5:59 am

    Kara: HAHAHAH! I loved that story! Oh landlords…they are….interesting to say the least.


Leave a Reply

January 2007
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter


