I Touched Squiggle!

That’s right folks, my friend Squiggle is actually an Akita dog. I was as surprised as you! Kidding aside, I couldn’t be the one to show you what he looks like, so he will remain an internet mystery to those of you who haven’t seen his face! He he!
About a week ago, I had the fortune of meeting a longtime blogging friend of mine, Squiggle! I’ve known him about the second-longest I’ve known anyone that I don’t physically know (hmm, sounding a bit risky!). Two years and I’ve never talked to him or seen him, and yet he knows so much about who I am from my writing. It’s really crazy how the internet can do that. Bring people together from two different countries that would otherwise probably never meet.
That’s right people, on December 22nd, Squiggle and company were in my house!
I was thinking about this a little later that evening, and it is really interesting having known someone for so long and never having seen their face or heard their voice. There’s always a certain amount of trust we put in the people whose blogs we read, and I was fortunate enough to have met one of the nicest group of people I’ve ever had the opportunity to host! Yay!
Squiggle, B, and his brother were all lovely, and it was really great talking to them. Sadly, we only had about an hour and a half to share, so before long, Squiggle and his crew had to head to the airport.
Interesting to feel like they’ve been right there in your city all along, but when they left, we realized that we might never see them again (hopefully not though!).
It’s almost like taking characters from a favorite book that you love, and then actually having these people appear before you, and go just as quickly. It’s almost as if they exist somewhere out in the world, or are somehow a figment of imagination, and then the day comes where you get to sit down and talk to them, and even give them a hug!
It was really a great experience, and hopefully I’ll get to see you again Squiggle!

7 Responses to “I Touched Squiggle!”


  1. 1 Ultra Toast Mosha God December 28, 2006 at 10:53 am

    The best thing about this, for me, is trying to picture your meeting, knowing what Squigge is like myself.

    It IS like a character from your favourite book coming to life. So it was when I met Mob and Ant.

    It warms my bones to think of such things.

  2. 2 LMizzle December 28, 2006 at 5:47 pm

    The meeting involved lots of laughter and good times with the puppies. Especially when both of my dogs joyfully tried to follow Squiggle into the bathroom to watch him take a pee!

    It does indeed warm the bones. It makes the world feel a little more accessible when you meet “characters” from around the world.

    One day I may even be so lucky as to see both Squiggle AND you!

    For now I look at my souvenir British flag key chain with a smile.

  3. 3 Pie! December 29, 2006 at 7:59 am

    Dang, I wish I hadn’t been at work!

  4. 4 High Desert Diva December 29, 2006 at 9:28 pm

    How cool! I’m totally jealous. I’ve been fortunate enough to meet one blogger (Mean Girl) in real life. It’s great!

    *sigh* No one comes to New Mexico. C’mon people! Taos has GREAT downhill skiing…or so I’m told. I’ve got to move to a big city, just so my blogger friends can visit me.

  5. 5 Squiggle January 2, 2007 at 9:44 am

    It’s MEEEEEEE!

    Hahaha, I haven’t had a chance to jump on my machine and Blog extensively about my holiday/visting you guys/xmas/New Year, until now … Hopefully I shall blog about it today, if work is quiet.

    Meeting all of you guys was totally awesome and I hope I/we didn’t scare you too much!

    Meeting Xray & RadSteve was an added bonus I wasn’t expecting. =)

    POW POW!

  6. 6 Squiggle January 2, 2007 at 9:45 am

    Oh … Joining up with me AND UTMG would be … Umm interesting … We can be quite disturbing when we’re in the same room together. =)

  7. 7 Squiggle January 2, 2007 at 9:47 am

    Pie ~ We’ll just have to meet up next time I’m over there. =)


Leave a Reply

December 2006
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

