CHRI$TMA$ TIME!

Oh Christmas. You bring my debt to unruly levels. Every year I manage to go over-budget and buy myself into debt again. My new goal until the 15th (the next time I get paid) is to spend no excessive money on anything. Nothing for me. Watch me as I have limited myself to a budget of $60 for the next two weeks. YIKES!
We’ll see how I do.
I am almost done Christmas shopping, but I still have a few items left to purchase, so that’s going on the credit card and I’m going to purchase NOTHING for two weeks. I’d like to say it’s for some amazing politial reason like BUY NOTHING DAY, but no. The groceries will be bought tonight and I will (try to) spend no more than $60 until the 15th.

This could get difficult.

After the 15th I’ll be cruisin’ my way to a debt-free situation!

Actually, the whole reason I’m on an extremely tight budget is because after getting a flat tire checked, I was told by the service station that they couldn’t find a problem with my tire.

“Are you sure it’s going flat?”

“Uhh, YEAH. Why would I bring it in otherwise?”

“Well anyway, there’s no hole in the tire.”

This led me to drive around and discover that THAT particular service station is full of morons because my tire AGAIN went flat. This forced me to ask my step-dad to help me get tires (he manages a Kal-Tire). Now I have FOUR new tires on my car which hit me with a nasty $430 bill right in the middle of Christmas shopping season.

Anyhow, when I lived in Banff I survived on a budget of $30 for two weeks, so I figure I’m up for the challenge.

How do you survive the Christmas shopping bonanza?

3 Responses to “CHRI$TMA$ TIME!”


  1. 1 Amanda December 4, 2006 at 8:24 pm

    I’m an avid believer that I am never going to get rid of debt in my life, so I deal with it and move on! This year we don’t have much shopping to do – the fam decided (cause I brought it up) that we would only do presents for the kids from now on! Yahoo! It’s much more fun buying for them anyway.

    This week, I am bringing lunches for me and Jerry all week. We will eat better and save money! Hooray!

  2. 2 LMizzle December 4, 2006 at 9:19 pm

    Good idea! I always try and count each person and make a list before I do the shopping, but there’s always extra presents and things that don’t work out.

    There’s only one kid in my family right now, so buying just for her would save me money, but I wouldn’t have a pretty bed sheet set coming my way either! 🙂

    I would do something like pulling names out of a hat or something like that but my mom tends to go crazy and start buying stuff in September for Xmas.

    Agh!

  3. 3 Ultra Toast Mosha God December 6, 2006 at 1:03 pm

    I live off snow and coal for the collossal month-and-a-half gap between the middle of Decemeber and the end of January payday.

    It’s the only way I can afford to get people presents and not perish in the process.


Leave a Reply

December 2006
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

