Why is a good collar so hard to find?!


I don’t know if anyone else thinks this is ridiculous, but I cannot find a hot pink dog collar anywhere! What the hell?!
Yes, the world has bigger problems, but hey, we’re talking about an awesome little pug who needs to look like a lady! I would never have thought I’d have such a pain in the arse time finding a DOG COLLAR.
I also realize that Zelda will grow out of the collar in a few months, but I just want a pretty little girly collar for my girly puppy!
The collars I keep finding either are NOT pink, or have some kind of tacky decal ribbon sewn on the outside of the collar, thus hiding all of the hot pink awesomeness.
I’m also on the fence about whether I should bother buying a dog collar that has a buckle, or a clip fastener. There’s just something about a clip fastener (like the pretty one above) that makes me feel safer for the dogs. Is that too nutsy?
I went to a few Petlands over the weekend and I’ve been to Petsmart and to Petcetera and the collars that they have that ARE pink are either baby pink (meh) or are really nice but they don’t have any that will fit Zelda because she’s too little.
You’d think pink would be popular for girlie dogs…I dunno!
Anyhow, that is my post-weekend rant. I called La Pawsh boutique to see what they had, and they have some, but with rhinestones, so I guess we’ll see. If anything else my trip there should be an entertaining one full of putting the dogs in ridiculous outfits!
Does anyone know where a gal can get a hot pink puppy collar?!

8 Responses to “Why is a good collar so hard to find?!”


  1. 1 Kara November 27, 2006 at 8:53 pm

    I found one!!!
    http://www.pet-dog-cat-supply-store.com/shop/index.php?page=shop-flypage-17331-a9d8f53f8431c9386f9d3e1788c8c27d&ps_session=4e45219a1aeeaffdd1b84bd219af98f2

    There’s also:
    http://thenewyorkdogshop.com
    I didn’t see a plain pink one, but there are a couple that have a minimum of rhinestones. Personally, I think the pink spiked one would look awesome on her, but not very practical, plus possibly dangerous for Winston!

  2. 2 messiah November 27, 2006 at 9:32 pm

    you can try Pisces Pet Emporium. They have a good selection of pretty much everything.

    (but are up in the northeast, just off McKnight Blvd & Edmonton Trail area)

  3. 4 Amanda November 27, 2006 at 11:55 pm

    I’ve got one with Pink on it that I can bring on Saturday for you to look at – and there is another pet place on 14th Street (close to Marda Loop – called Unleashed, they have some cool stuff. Healthy Hounds (http://www.healthyhounds.ca/) in Marda loop is good too and Urban Dog Market (http://www.urbandogmarket.com/)(also Garrison Woods area). There is a pet place up 17th Avenue across from Killarney Pool too… I love to shop for the dogs… it’s a craziness…

    Oh and Planet Dog is cool too – http://www.planetdog.com/leashes.asp?ID=1345&template=leashCombo2 – they have a pink one and a blue (you could get the dogs matching!!!) I order from Planet Dog alot and they are great. You can totally exchange no problem too if they are too small/big.

  4. 5 Candace November 28, 2006 at 5:31 am

    eBay!!! If not on .ca (which they have a few) check out .com. Definatley no spikes, but you could get diamante or swarovski crystals w/a princess crown or a pastel flower charm… So cute!

  5. 6 Lorkeet November 28, 2006 at 6:44 pm

    Amanda knows what time it is! I was just in Healthy Hounds last week and they have a plethora of cool collars. I believe I even saw a pink one with paisley’s on it! The store is on 34 Ave. across from Original Joe’s. Unleashed on 14 St. is cool too.

  6. 7 LMizzle November 28, 2006 at 9:14 pm

    Ohhhh, thanks everyone! I found a little pink collar that’s just a touch too big at La Pawsh, but then I ended up spending a bunch of money (by accident, of course) on sweaters for the pugs.
    I think I’m gonna check out Healthy Hounds tonight!

  7. 8 Blondie November 29, 2006 at 3:55 am

    PETCETERA ON MACLEOD NEAR CANADIAN TIRE! They have QUITE a selection of AWESOME collars! They’d fit her too!


Leave a Reply

November 2006
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter


