A Hard Days Work

Today was a rough-ass dat at work.

I had to stop by Steve’s work this morning to drop off his glasses, so I emailed a co-worker and told her I needed to change a morning meeting time. When I got to work, our male co-worker hadn’t even shown up yet for the meeting, so I stopped by another co-worker’s office to see if she had anything I could help out with. Let’s call her Anne. I am splitting a workload probably 75% to 25% with Anne. The project is a holiday adopt-a-family that my organization runs every year. It involves corporations, families, or individuals registering to adopt a family that would otherwise have no Christmas. We’re talking people with no homes who have to stay with friends, or people like single mom’s with 4 kids…stuff like that.
What better job to take on than getting to be Santa, right?

Hmmm, not so right.

Anne seems to think that I have nothing else to do other than run this campaign (though this adopt a family isn’t in my job description, they just think I will do well running it).

We get over THREE HUNDRED donors matched to families, and the exchange happens over two days. The donor drops off the supplies all wrapped up nice, and the family comes later to pick up their gifts. It should be really wonderful to see.

Well, I am also one of a very small number of people working at this particular place who is splitting the task of raising a million dollar amount of money to keep our organization running. Not easy.

Anne doesn’t seem to remember that I have to do this.

I had a meeting at 9:30am this morning, which I was heading to, when she said to me, “You’re not going to that. You have to do this and this. This is your #1 priority. You need to check the questions on the phone line blah blah so you’re not going to the meeting.”

I am rather frustrated at this point, but I tell her I’ll reschedule. She then proceeds to tell me how to run my day.

Obviously, I do not appreciate this, but I tolerate her advice.

Until she tells me I “can’t go” to my meeting, because this is more important.

NOT. COOL. LADY.

You ain’t my mom, and you ain’t my boss, DO NOT tell me how to do my job.

She was even freaking out when I was in the bathroom because she couldn’t find me! WTF!

“I need to know where you are so that I can come see you.”

Okay, would you also like to wipe my ass?

I realize I am around 20 years younger than everyone in my office, but I have a degree on how to run the entire office, so I don’t take kindly to being told what to do like I’m at home listening to my mom. That’s why kids move out. So they gain more independence.

It’s like she was talking to me extra slow because I might not otherwise get it.

At least I knew we had a scanner at work.

This was especially hard to deal with because my boss wasn’t at work today, and I don’t like to sit around complaining to others, but I figure I need to be rather tactful since this woman has been here longer.

No one would dare tell anyone else how to do their job and what is a priority in a days work, but I’m “the young one”, so YAY FOR ME.

Rough times. I don’t know what exactly to do! Any suggestions?

7 Responses to “A Hard Days Work”


  1. 1 My Pugs Blogger November 25, 2006 at 1:34 pm

    KIck her in the shins! No? Hum… I’m stumpted then.

    No – that sounds really frustrating! I can’t believe she got ticked off when you were in the lou! I don’t know what I could give as advice – do you think you could sit down with her and tell her you don’t appreciate being told how to do your job because she isn’t your boss? If that doesn’t work – you’d have to go to your boss and let her know what’s going on and that you don’t appreciate being treated like that. Poop.

    On another note though – I participated in the Calgary Sun Adopt a family (is it the same one?) for 3 years when I worked at a firm. The boss gave me his credit card and said – go crazy – and I always did. We would adopt 4 -5 families a year and I was always shocked/sad to see the items that were on the list. Cleaning supplies, a toaster, bedsheets…. things that we totally take for granted that we can just “pick up” at the store without thinking that a bottle of Mr. Clean is $10 and we don’t have to chose between that feeding our kids.

    I think you’re doing a fabo job!

  2. 2 Sandra November 25, 2006 at 7:46 pm

    Well, I could always rip off some laxatives from MY work.

  3. 3 Sandra November 26, 2006 at 1:45 pm

    That is… to slip the laxatives in her coffee or something…and you can snicker everytime she has to run to the bathroom…not for the adopt a family…

  4. 4 LMizzle November 26, 2006 at 6:41 pm

    Hahaha, yeah well I doubt anyone would intentionally send a family with no food some laxatives because when you have no food, it’s hard to poop much of anything!

    I was watching this CSI the other day where someone put eye drops in a drink to make an old man shit his pants (apparently eye drops can do this) and he ended up being killed!

    Besides, this woman is pretty old anyhow, I’m sure her poops are prett bad as is. Thanks for the offer though! 🙂

  5. 5 Sandra November 26, 2006 at 7:43 pm

    Man, if she’s pretty old you might be doing her a favour by slipping her some x-lax. Maybe she’ll lighten up.

  6. 6 Blondie November 27, 2006 at 3:17 am

    OHHHHHHH HALLELUJAH that I don’t work with anyone who does that to me!

  7. 7 Okami November 28, 2006 at 9:41 pm

    Eww – sorry to hear you have to put up with that nonsense. You know you are doing an uber job and maybe she is having some insecurities because she thinks that you might one day take her job from her or something.

    So instead she acts like some crazed lunatic in an attempt to be in control and be the authority figure – while in reality we can all laugh about putting ex-lax in her coffee.

    Actually – there is someone in my office I really really really want to do that to just becuase they have it coming to them (seriously bad karma)


Leave a Reply

November 2006
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

