Pumpkin Carving 101

I bought a pumpkin the other night with Steve so that I could carve the hell out of it. I honestly don’t remember ever carving a pumpkin with my family, except for last year when I watched my sister do one for my neice. Totally odd hey?
Anyhow, I bought this glorious book of patterns and decided on an Igor science theme for my first pumpkin. I always wondered how the hell people carved pumpkins with such intricate patterns. We used to have this contest in elementary school where they would make a pumpkin display of all the pumpkins that kids carved. Well I can tell you right now that pretty much everyone had their pumpkin carved by their parents. There’s no way a kid can carve an entire scene from The Little Mermaid on the face of a pumpkin!

I didn’t know how my pumpkin was turning out because it’s really hard to tell when you’re just slashing away at the prncil marks, but I almost pooped a hammer when I lit a candle inside and saw what I had done:

AWESOME! I just hope someone doesn’t steal it or smash it!

6 Responses to “Pumpkin Carving 101”


  1. 1 Anonymous October 19, 2006 at 3:54 pm

    That is totally AWESOME!! I am in a contest at work for a pumpkin carving thing – maybe I should look for a book like that.

    That is the best pumpkin I have ever seen!!

  2. 2 Anonymous October 19, 2006 at 9:29 pm

    He’s awesome!

    Furthermore, I completely love the colours you have chosen for your blog, and mean to tell you that everytime I come here.

  3. 3 Sandra October 20, 2006 at 1:35 am

    That’s a friggin great pumpkin, L!

  4. 4 tjam October 20, 2006 at 6:12 am

    You are the pumpkin master fur sure!
    Wanna carve mine next week?

  5. 5 Ultra Toast Mosha God October 20, 2006 at 8:37 am

    Yeah, that pretty much rules Pumpkin World.

    Now that you are Queen, you can abolish seeds and threaten Pie or Soup torture for the criminal element of the vegetable patch

  6. 6 LMizzle October 20, 2006 at 3:48 pm

    Tjam: I’ll do it if you want, I love carving!!!

    Ultra: Criminal vegetable patch?! I guess that’s what I’m bound to get into since I don’t eat meat!


Leave a Reply

October 2006
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

