This cat is BANANAS!


My cat has basically gone insane. Miss Bella Sushi Meow Meow has taken an extreme liking to peeing on my bed. Pretty much every day.

That means I have to wash my down comforter every day. And the sheets. And sometimes the pillowcases.

Last week she peed on a shirt and sweater vest I was going to wear to work.

I’m at my freakin’ wits end over here!

I can’t even sleep under the same blanket as Steve because our main blanket is usually downstairs in the wash! Now sleeping together under one blanket is like a luxury vacation!

She’s pretty much taken to doing this EVERY DAY. Not good.

We tried moving her littler box, changing the litter, buying her a whole new box. Nothing. She’s peeing up a friggin’ storm! I didn’t know such a little kitty was so full of pee!

I was looking up things on the internet about it and it says that she’s obviously mad about something. I’ve tried everything to get her to stop, but nothing is working. I can’t even spray anything in the house to keep her away from places because she’ll just pee somewhere else!

Steve suggested we sew her pee hole shut….though this is a good temporary solution, if we’re going that route we might as well sew Winstons butt closed because it smells! (this part is a JOKE, we wouldn’t sew her pee hole shut…and I doubt she’d sit around long enough to even let us near her pee hole!)

We’re pretty much getting close to a decision as to whether to give her up for adoption. When it comes down to it, we paid about seven times as much for the dog. I don’t want her to go to the Humane Society or the pound. I’ll just suffer through the pee because I don’t want her to have the chance of being killed.

Tough times. Sad times.

These are the times you wish your pet spoke english…

14 Responses to “This cat is BANANAS!”


  1. 1 Joe October 17, 2006 at 6:06 pm

    You should spray everything but the toilet! That’ll teach her.

  2. 2 LMizzle October 17, 2006 at 6:33 pm

    Hahaha, I only wish I could actually teach her to go pee in the toilet. Oh man.

  3. 3 Anonymous October 17, 2006 at 10:58 pm

    While sewing her pee hole shut seems like a wonderful (no sarcasm) idea, I would suggest putting a bowl of vinegar in the entrance to your room.

    I’m serious. We had a cat who was getting really old, and went crazy and started peeing on things she “knew were ours” (as the vet put it). Vinegar deters them, I guess. Even if you can’t get her to stop, wouldn’t ANY PLACE ELSE in the house be better than your bed?!

    There’s always closing your bedroom door, I mean, but I’m sure you’ve thought of that…

  4. 4 LMizzle October 17, 2006 at 11:31 pm

    Yeah, the problem with the vinegar is that she sleeps on a pillow beside my side of the bed most nights so detering her is hard.

    I don’t exactly know if any place else would be better because I can’t throw a whole couch cushion into my washer. She peed on a papasan chair I bought from Pier 1 a few years ago and I ended up having to buy a whole new cushion for it.

    Yeah, I close the bedroom door every day when I go out. She is a sneaky kitty though. Like this morning I was looking in my closet trying to figure out what to wear when I turn around and she’s scratching the bed because she quietly pissed on it while my face was towards the closet! Damn cat!

    At least when she pees on my sheets I can physically wash them instead of just spraying stuff on the spot and trying to wipe it up…

    I might try and idea that a co-worker suggested to me, which was to put a baby gate between the dog and cat to see if the dog is the problem or not…

    Who knows! The vet is this Thursday though, so hopefully I can get some stuff figured out…

  5. 5 Anonymous October 18, 2006 at 6:25 am

    Hey,nice blog!!! I found a place where you can make an extra $800 or more a month. I do it part time and make a lot more than that. It is definitely worth a visit! You can do it in your spare time and make good cash. Make Extra Cash

  6. 6 Anonymous October 18, 2006 at 6:40 am

    Hey,nice blog!!! I found a place where you can make an extra $800 or more a month. I do it part time and make a lot more than that. It is definitely worth a visit! You can do it in your spare time and make good cash. Make Extra Cash

  7. 7 Ultra Toast Mosha God October 18, 2006 at 10:11 am

    I would say she is jealous of the Dog.

    She is spraying to mark her territory because she is insecure about the dogs presence.

    I would guess that the only way to solve this would be to have the dog live out in the yard in a kennel, but being Canada, I suspect this would be potentially fatal for a genetically unprepared canine.

    Speak to your vet!

  8. 8 Anonymous October 18, 2006 at 3:32 pm

    I don’t know if this would do anything – but someone suggested to me once that if the cat is peeing everywhere to take the lid off the litter box. I don’t know if that would help at all…

    Dude, that sucks. I had a cat (my parents took him when I moved out) that would pee on all sorts of things when he got stressed out. I came up with no solution to help him…

    Let me know if you need anything! Even a spare set of sheets and a waterproof blanket🙂

  9. 9 Leesa October 18, 2006 at 4:53 pm

    What did you do to “piss her off?” Clearly an animal psychologist is needed.

  10. 10 LMizzle October 18, 2006 at 6:03 pm

    Haha, thanks Amanda!

    I would take the lid off the litter box, but the dog seems to eat more poop when the lid is off. It’s like a poop-off in the house! Take the lid off the litter, dog eats pooh, spray bitter taste on the litter, cat pees on bed…cat pees on bed, I wash sheets, cat pees on bed…

    It’s pretty ridiculous.

    Maybe I can just syran wrap the whole apartment and then anyone can crap and pee wherever they like, hahaha.

  11. 11 Sandra October 18, 2006 at 9:22 pm

    If you want, I can take Winston temporarily (for two days or so) to see if she’s jealous of him. Just to help you figure it out.

    Of course, if it’s not an option I’ll understand. I just hate to see you give up a member of your family.

  12. 12 Lorkeet October 18, 2006 at 9:39 pm

    I was talking to some friends (cat people) about your little issue and someone said that cats need to know they have an escape root while they’re doing their bathroom bidness. Is her litter box in a spot where she has a few options of running away to if she’s feeling threatened?

  13. 13 LMizzle October 19, 2006 at 3:51 am

    Yeah we actually keep her food on a shelf so that the dog can’t bug her. When I put her litter box on a small table, she peed on the bed, so I just moved it back to the floor…

  14. 14 Okami October 19, 2006 at 2:25 pm

    L – Ultra is absolutely right!

    When you guys bought Bella, you knew she has had a very rough background and had been ignored and neglected. She didn’t have enough time to get settled and secure in knowing that you guys weren’t going to throw her out or hurt her before you and Steve bought Winston. He has taken up the vast majority of your time since you brought him home, and she is feeling threatened that you don’t love her anymore.

    She’s jealous of the dog because she doesn’t feel loved anymore.

    You have to make some “Bella only” time for her (once every second day to start) so that she knows that she is still a member of your family and that the dog didn’t replace her. It will take a little time for her to relax and know that you love her just as much as Winston and that you won’t abandon her. That should help curb the peeing on everything.

    And definitely talk to the vet – they would have seen this acting out before by both cats and dogs.

    I hope that helps because I know how much you love Bella and she is so attached to you and Steve.


Leave a Reply

October 2006
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

