Crackhouses, wedding bells, and other marvels

Today the two crack houses that somewhat “hugged” the fence of my backyard were torn down. Bye bye, crazy crackhouses! One of them actually looked like it had been a nice house once. The other one…ummm, looked JUST like you’d think a crackhouse would look. Broken windows, broken steps, boarded up…I’d say that’s pretty much the description! One of the demolition people said that when they went to clean the inside of the house, it was the worst they’d ever seen…needles and crack pipes everywhere! Apparently there was a lot of shag carpeting too! Sick! Sadly, because they took down the crackhouses, they also ripped out the crackhouse tree that was shielding our dining room window from how ugly everything was! Now I have to look at a dirty old bathtub! Somehow the demolition crew cracked two of the sections of window in the dining room as well! Craptastic. Steve called the architect though, so hopefully something is done aobut that…

In other, shittier news, it seems as though wedding fever has struck all around me! Some girl at work who just got back from Scotland was proposed to in a castle, and since my cubicle is in a major intersection point, I have gotten to hear her re-tell the story of how romantic the proposal was TIME AND TIME AGAIN. A friend of mine I’ve known since junior high also emailed me today to tell me she’s getting married next June. Not to say I’m not extremely happy for these girls, but when you’ve been proposed to and had it taken away, it leaves SOMEWHAT of a TEENY, TINY sore spot whenever I hear anything involving WEDDINGS or people getting ENGAGED.

“Hey, I was engaged once! What’s that? Oh, no not anymore!”

In other, less pain inducing news, I’m beginning to wonder where anyone got the memo that it was okay to wear Gator shoes when in public? I have some that I wear to the hospital when I work, and most people have them there. These shoes are about as ugly as they are comfortable, which is VERY. I don’t know what would posess anyone to wear these hideous things in public, but I saw a girl in capri pants, green socks FOLDED DOWN, and blue Gator shoes.

MY EYES!!!

12 Responses to “Crackhouses, wedding bells, and other marvels”


  1. 1 Xrayeagle May 26, 2006 at 7:00 am

    It will never be OK to wear those shoes in public. Ever. for fuck sakes.

    That does suck about the marriage stuff, which friend was it? I guess it is that time of life. But I will wager that all those young ladies have a similar story of when things did not seem so glowing.

  2. 2 sandra May 26, 2006 at 1:36 pm

    Didn’t that disease go around last summer, too?

    Isn’t Scott B. getting hitched soon?

  3. 3 Okami May 26, 2006 at 1:38 pm

    Aw ~ I’m sorry L ~ that does suck about the house and the work yuckiness.

    Just tune them out and blog with us instead. As for the shoes, I can’t bring myself to even think of trying them on, but one of the women in the office yesterday decided that these were appropriate WORK shoes for a corporate setting! *shudder* Lime Green that made your retinas burn like hell fire. Blech.

    Those who wear them swear by them though on comfort…and apparently now someone is markteting the plugs that go into the little holes across the top…different colours, different images, too much time on their hands ~ you know, that kind of thing.

  4. 4 Ultra Toast Mosha God May 26, 2006 at 1:48 pm

    Hide a poop in her cubicle somewhere. See how happy she is then!

    Ha!

    (make sure the poop is not one of yours. Detectives may use genetics to reveal you as the pooper)

  5. 5 LMizzle May 26, 2006 at 4:30 pm

    Mike: Yeah, those shoes really should only be worn while gardening OR at the hospital. Never ANYWHERE else! For God’s sake! Who wears them to an OFFICE?!?!

    Sandra: Yes, Scott’s getting married in August. I’m going to the wedding with Dusan. THANK YOU FOR REMINDING ME OF YET ANOTHER MARRIAGE.

    Okami: Plugs?! What the tits?! Those holes are there for a reason! So your feet can breathe! What is wrong with the shoe world?

    Ultra: You just made my day! Hillarious!!! I don’t know who I could get to be the pooper for me…

  6. 6 Okami May 26, 2006 at 10:42 pm

    I still vote for Bella Sushi Meow Meow to be the supplier…

  7. 7 sandra May 26, 2006 at 11:51 pm

    L, I saw a woman at the hospital wearing two different colour gator shoes. Ugly times two.

  8. 8 Xrayeagle May 29, 2006 at 6:40 am

    I see people with those shoes everywhere now.

    Man, how is retardation so contageous!?

    I blame…. the Swiss. The Swiss are jerks.

  9. 9 Deidre May 29, 2006 at 5:42 pm

    or better yet, send her a ‘wedding gift’. wrap the poop up. it’ll be great! just leave it at her cubicle and then all day, you won’t hear about the romantic proposal, but of your awesomeness of wraping poop up. it’ll be great!

  10. 10 messiah May 29, 2006 at 6:01 pm

    dear sweet baby jesus – those are the ugliest shoes i’ve ever seen.

    and maybe more disturbing – i’ve started seeing low quality, zellers/wal-mart level copycats.

    who wears them to an office? the same type of person who wears “dress sweats”. that’s who.

    (like the teal. thanks – the green almost scarred my retinas)

  11. 11 LMizzle May 30, 2006 at 12:29 am

    Mike, I’m pretty sure the Swiss had nothing to do with this, but you can blame then anyway.

    Deidre: Hell yes! Poop as a wedding gift?! I’m in.

    Messiah: DRESS SWEATS is the best term I’ve ever heard! I would like to see a dress sweats/gator shoes evening on the town!

  12. 12 Ultra Toast Mosha God May 30, 2006 at 10:57 am

    Use one of hers.

    She won’t be right in the head ever again.


Leave a Reply

May 2006
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

