What the Funk

Last night I was at a random pub/bar type place where I watched two men get into a fist fight during a performance by a funk band. Seriously, has anyone else seen a fight break out to funk?
I also witnessed probably the most horrific and disgusting ingestion of food I’ve ever seen. This disturbing man in a brown mock-turtleneck and tweed suit came into the bar by himself and proceeded to eat a steak sandwich. This was no normal ingestion of food. It looked like he was holding the fork a foot away from himself so that his flappy lips could meet the fork in erotic delight. He didn’t take a drink of his wine the entire time he was eating. He just kept shoving handfuls of french fries in his mouth. Handful after nasty handful, five of us watched this bizarre man ingest a $20 plate of food. He returned later to hug an attractive woman who somehow pulled the man’s TOUPEE off! AWESOME! He was so drunk he proceeded to wave it around and joke about it.

“HOW DID THIS GET HERE?! SOMEONE PUT A TOUPEE ON MY HEAD!”

Steve R and I thought he left the toupee on the bar, so we walked by him in an attempt to steal it, but sadly he managed to hide his hairpiece somewhere within the lavish creases of his tweed suit. Come to think of it, how long would either of us have wanted to touch a dirty toupee?

In other exciting news, I’m moving in just seven more sleeps! It still doesn’t seem like it’s coming, but I can feel the excitement building…I think I’ve just got a few changes coming so it’s hard to register one over the other. I have a sweet hair appointment Monday, I move Saturday, I find out if I have a summer work-term soon, and I will be done all of my academic classes as of the 13th. Lots to do!

I’m having trouble figuring out whether to quit my current job or not once the summer comes. I can make in three days more than I would at my old Starbucks job in a week! It’s pretty darn sweet pay. The job isn’t the most mind-altering, but it’s helpful work at least. I’d like to think that at least on some level I am helping to keep people healthy.

The bad part is that if I get the job I interviewed for this week AND keep my current job I’m going to be working 7 days a week. LOTS AND LOTS OF WORK. I do find that I like to be busy during the summer months, but do I want to work every damn day? I think if I told my current boss that I can only work once a week that he’d probably shit a brick. WHAT TO DO?! If I work 2 jobs I will work a normal 9-5 for the week, and then random 8 hour shifts on Sat and Sun. I’ll most likely be able to double my income just by working the weekends…

I figure I should be able to handle it for a while if I already pretty much go to school 3 days and work 3 days. I only have one day off most weeks…

I think I might burn out pretty quick though…

My other problem is that if I get this summer job, it’s a contract position, so once the contract is up, I’m SOL for a job unless I can set something up by some miracle that will pay me enough to get through a month’s rent and expenses. SHIT! At least if I kept my current weekend job I’d still have enough money to pay my rent only working 2 days a week.

Anone got any advice??

7 Responses to “What the Funk”


  1. 1 Blondie March 26, 2006 at 5:00 pm

    Try it out. I’ve done crazy crap like that before, but living on your own is going to be WAAAAAAAAAAAAAY different. It’s hard when you have to plan your trips to the grocery store and buy EVERYTHING YOU NEED for the next while because you won’t have any more time for that.

  2. 2 LMizzle March 26, 2006 at 5:34 pm

    Yeah, it was kinf of like that in Banff, except in Banff I didn’t really know anyone, so a trip to the store was more exciting than sitting around…

  3. 3 Ultra Toast Mosha God March 27, 2006 at 9:13 am

    I don’t think I could hack that pace for too long.

    A few years back, I worked a hectic office job during the week and a photography job at the weekends; a full one 7 day week.

    I kept it up for three months and raked it in.

    I wouldn’t have wanted to do it for any longer though.

    I was always too tired to do anything or see anyone.

    It’s a tough call. How much do you need the money?

  4. 4 Lorkeet March 27, 2006 at 3:19 pm

    This is a tough call. I personally don’t think I could ever work that much, but I’m a lazy fuck.

    I don’t think you should burn the hospital job bridge. It is really good pay and you seem to not hate it.

    If you decide to take on both jobs you will have to be super organized to decrease the inevitable increase in stress level that will come. Basically, do everything in your power to make it as easy on yourself as possible. Don’t forget to have fun though! This IS your first summer living on your own. You won’t have this experience again.

    To relate my advice to my own life… I have to go to Las Vegas this weekend and then I have to got to Costa Rica next weekend! I’m stressed, but I’m organized. Anyone feeling sorry for me yet?

  5. 5 helloitsme March 27, 2006 at 7:29 pm

    was this band urbandivide? jsut wondering and wow, some people……. at least thier entertaining!

  6. 6 Okami March 27, 2006 at 7:56 pm

    Not what you want to hear – but it would likely be in your best interest to try and swing both jobs for a while. Lorkeet is right, you really don’t want to burn that bridge – especially if the pay could cover rent and expenses, leaving you extra money from the contract position.

    Besides, the hospital job is only a few hours a week – it’s not a though the are asking for 18 hour days…or are they?? At least you would still have the weekend evenings (and assorted timeframes) to partake in more entertaining activities.

    Besdies, you know that we are here for you if you need assistance on your DFS – isn’t that the point of all of us working at the same time?

  7. 7 Deidre March 28, 2006 at 12:19 am

    yeah, it depends on how much you need the money and how much you don’t want any time for anything other than sleep. I’m gonna try the two-job thing over the summer. since I’ll probably have no friends during the summer, it should okay.


Leave a Reply

March 2006
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

