A Hair-Raising Tale

I’ve just returned from a job interview. The women in the building were all gorgeous. If I work there during the summer, I shall join the elete rankings of the hottest npro in town. I’ll be spending the summer in sun dresses out at charity golf fundraisers. Sounds like a good time to me! Hopefully I can score this job…

In other news, I need a haircut. I had decided not to return to my previous hairdresser last year after she cut my bangs on a slant so severe that people were asking me if I cut my own hair. Yes, it was bad. I proceeded to see a delightful Japanese man with dreads by the Starbucks I worked at. He was rad, except that when I move, if I went to see him I’d have to drive 45 min, and that’s just rediculous.

I haven’t had a haircut since August. MADNESS! It’s not that I hate my hair as it is, but it’s just not presenting the LMizzle that I know and enjoy. I am currently sporting a Lisa Loeb thing (just for Joe), however, to my dismay someone told me last week that hearing me swear was like hearing an angel belch. I just look really innocent. Now, moving to the mean streets of downtown, I feel I need to up the funk and edge on my noggin about 300%. This requires the work of a super hairdresser.

But who will be my savior?!

I decided to take up the free offer of a consultation at every hairdresser at the biggest mall near by.

Eviline Charles: I get snooty lookes from the male hairdresser. There are at least six hairdresser crowded around one customer. The girl at the counter looks barely legal and there are no consultaitons until 5:45. The time was 2:45.

Diva Hair: I get snooty looks from the counter girl. She drearily says that there are no consults available until 3:30. The time was 2:50.

Some Random Salon: I walk in and immediately walk out when I notice that every hairdresser working had apparently stopped buying clothes in 1993.

Hennessey: I walk in and the counter girl smiles and asks me how I am. I discuss consultations with her and she asks if I would like a male or female hairdresser. It doesn’t matter to me, so I say let the fates decide. There is an appointment slot available at 3:15. The time was 3:00. I book.

I return ten minutes later and am offered licorece. AWESOME! The man I have booked with introduces himself and I forget his name immediately, much to my dismay. He looks like someone I have class with (Irfaan). We talk and he plays with my hair and explains some things he’d like to try. He tells me that if I come back in a few days, he’ll do some research on my face shape and hair texture and we can consult just before the appointment.

He offered to research my hair?!?!! WTF?!?!? TOTALLY SWEET!

I book. I have an appointment Monday to have my hair cut by a dude I was MAJORLY impressed with.

But what to do?!

I enjoy Kat Von D’s hair…

I also enjoy this chick’s hair:

And this chick:

Anyone got any ideas???

11 Responses to “A Hair-Raising Tale”


  1. 1 Joe March 23, 2006 at 8:31 pm

    Sadly, I have no ideas about the hair…

    That said, you should have told the guy:

    “If you think that hearing an angel belch is interesting, I know a place where you can get your picture taken with Fucking Angels!!!”

    And thanks for continuing to work the Lisa Loeb look for my sake.

  2. 2 LMizzle March 23, 2006 at 10:09 pm

    Thanks anyway Joe, I trust your taste!

    I should just bring the fucking Angels in to have their picture taken with him while he cuts my hair…then maybe belch while it’s happening too.

    Too much?

  3. 3 Okami March 23, 2006 at 11:06 pm

    Not unless you want to risk having an ear sliced off as he can’t look away from the angels…

    Trying to make up my mind on the hairstyles…of course, look at my hair, I may not be the best person to comment on cutting it.

    The hair, I mean.

    Holy Crap – your word verification was “XWJVNMZU” – it took me longer to type that than it did to type this.

  4. 4 Reeens March 23, 2006 at 11:44 pm

    Hey…looking at your choices of hair i don’t think your hair would suite it cause most of the pictures involve asian hair or coarse hair and you have fine hair, i don’t think it would stay in place the way you want it to with those hair cuts…or am i wrong..hmmmmm…ps. my auntie has a hairdressing place in heritage plaza called “visable changes” haha just sayin

  5. 5 Blondie March 24, 2006 at 12:42 am

    Peut etre comme ca?

    http://www.alternativelook.co.uk/WebImages/Thumbs/patsy_lge.jpg

    Moi, je pense que les deux styles sont bon pour toi.

  6. 7 LMizzle March 24, 2006 at 7:34 am

    Sarah:

    Ceux-là sont assez bons, merci!

  7. 8 Ultra Toast Mosha God March 24, 2006 at 9:33 am

    Go with the Kat von D hair, and the exorcist t-shirt that guy is wearing.

    Sweet

  8. 9 Lorkeet March 24, 2006 at 5:26 pm

    Is it just me or is the last photo one of the Olsen twins????

  9. 10 Deidre March 24, 2006 at 6:21 pm

    Sorry, L. I have advice. I just cut my hair straight across. I like the long, straight look that is Native. Although sometimes I get urge to do something funky with my hair, I never have the guts. Good luck!

  10. 11 Blondie March 24, 2006 at 9:13 pm

    I’m cutting my hair as well. Like you, it’s not like I don’t like the look I have, it’s jsut that I liked the shorter look better. I will most likely cut it like it was BEFORE and not into something too different.


Leave a Reply

March 2006
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter


