Why a children’s tv star hates me (this one’s for Jess!)

Since Jess managed to break the ribs of the grandchild of the couple on the children’s tv show, Ballooner Landing, I thought it necessary to tell you all about why a children’s tv personality from my city hates me.
A long time ago, I was a patroller, you know…those kids that they convince to stand out in the middle of the road any stop traffic for younger kids. We were armed with nothing more than a whistle and a stop sign. Back in those days they actually let us walk out into traffic, whereas the lucky little bastards these days only have to hold the sign in the road. Anyhow, enough about how kids these daya don’t have the brass balls they used to…
So every year the patrollers got to go to Heritage park for the yearly awards ceremony. For all those who don’t know what Heritage Park is, it’s basically a park that has a bunch of historic buildings from the early 1900s and people dressed in century clothing. In short, it’s pretty much a way for parents to bore their children to death (unless their kids like to go ghost hunting in the haunted houes situated on the property, like I did in the summer).
Anyhow, I was maybe like 8 or 9 when I attended my first patroller meeting. They give the kids free hot dogs and candy to keep them partying and awake. So I’m walking around with a few friends, enjoying the joyous sunshine, when I see local children’s tv star, Buckshot walk by.
Let me explain a little bit about Buckshot…
Buckshot is a cowboy. He’s kind of the semi-fat looking uncle you’d have if you lived in texas. He has a puppet sidekick named Benny the Bear. This bear was pretty much a pice of a 2×4 with a stuffed bear shoved over it. Anyhow, he was on tv in the mornings from what I remember, and a quite enjoyed his antics between my morning cartoons.

For some reason as I was sitting on the grass by the gift shop, out of the blue I see Buckshot walking with Benny. Now I am so excited at this point that I’m seeing a shitty celebrity that I am speechless, and I somehow lose the ability to explain to my friends that the opportunity to meet Buckshot is shortly going to pass us by.
In a fit of celebrity joy I screamed, “HEY BUCKSHOT!!!!” Now obviously the sound of a screaming child made him turn around and look at me (it was probably also because I was only 10 feet away too). He turns and I am suddenly faced with the quick decision of how to best portray my love of him and his morning entertainment shenannigans.

What did I do?

I gave him the thumbs up while screaming, “YYYEEEEEAAAAAAAHHHHHH!!!!!!”

I really don’t know why I didn’t just say, “I love your show!” but that’s a Scooby Doo mystery we won’t soon solve. No, no, instead I yelled one of the most common words in the english language and gave the man the “thumbs up,” which is a proven childhood confidence booster.

What did Buckshot do?

NOTHING. ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. He didn’t say hello, he didn’t say thanks, he didn’t even wave. He just looked at me with this horrified look of wonder and then turned and walked away.

My elementary school heart crushed, I went back to playing with my friends.

Damn you Buckshot, damn you.

9 Responses to “Why a children’s tv star hates me (this one’s for Jess!)”


  1. 1 rad steveness January 26, 2006 at 9:16 pm

    buckshot?
    more like:
    doucheface!

  2. 2 LMizzle January 26, 2006 at 9:25 pm

    More like:

    Kidstreet was way better anyhow!

  3. 3 rad steveness January 26, 2006 at 10:09 pm

    I learned a joke from kidstreet:
    Q: What do you call a huge pile of cats?
    A: A Meow-ntain!

  4. 4 Marina January 27, 2006 at 12:16 am

    HAHA Lauren i was friends with Buckshots granddaughter in elementary school, are you jealous?

  5. 5 Jess January 27, 2006 at 12:48 am

    HAH whooo man, the coughing fit this induced is indescribable. I mean not only did it spur nostaligia of being reeled in through Heritage Park party promises into the dangerous life of the most hardass patrollers to ever walk halfway across the streets, but allowed me to realize that I’m not alone…
    It also reminds me of another story. . IN grade 4 (Good year for me. .) some Lynn woman who had some Storytime Tv show came and asked my class to sing “Canoe.” It was a song about Jacque Cousteau, Alas,I she cast me as Sir.Cousteau at the head of the canoe. . . I was mad, so instead of the song. I bust out fist pumps + the theme from ‘Married with Children’, then Proceeded to Push a child off the riser….The episode never aired.

  6. 6 Xrayeagle January 27, 2006 at 2:30 am

    Yeah… I got nothing. I liked the friendly giant. He had a rooster in a sock that he always hung out with.

    Then he got cancelled for being a bad freudian metaphor

  7. 7 Joe January 27, 2006 at 2:22 pm

    Don’t worry, L. I’m pretty sure I’d do the exact same thing if I were to ever run into you.

  8. 8 Squiggle January 27, 2006 at 2:59 pm

    LMIZZLE …. YEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHH!

  9. 9 Steve-O January 28, 2006 at 5:02 am

    I’m the person who caught Pee Wee Herman masterbating in a theatre… Ok not really but I felt left out because I didn’t have a story about meeting a hero from my childhood like you and Jess did. I never met anyone famous as a kid, although I did have a local childrens performer write a song for me for my 10th birthday. But I absolutely hated the song he made me and it still haunts me to this day. Screw you Paulo.


Leave a Reply

January 2006
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

