Bookworm! (Let’s go to the library…!)

Since the Giftmas holidays I’ve been busy with books. Also, since nothing particularly interesting has happened lately (such as catching on fire, falling through ice, and other natural disasters) I am going to talk about the books I’ve read since mid-December.

Okay, I got this book for my birthday back in July, and never got the chance to read it, I admit it. Harry Potter never dissapoints! How could he?! I’m just sad there’s only one book left. Perhaps in this next tale Harry will finally get the sweet pooty he never knew he wanted!


This book revved up my curiosity in Islamic culture. I “borrowed” this book from a friend about 4 years ago. She kept my VCR and didn’t say thanks, so I kept her book. I think I got the better end of the deal. Nine Parts of Desire gets a little blah by the end because the author keeps having to describe the background and history of every woman she encounters, which gets a little tough to read, because (and I’ll admit to it) I have a lot of trouble deciphering the hundreds of Islamic names that she used. I figure if I can find more books on Islam, India, Hinduism, or something of the like, then I will be better able to keep track of the who’s who.


This book is amazing. I laughed out loud SEVERAL times while reading it, which is a fantastic feat since most people don’t laugh when reading books for fear of others thinking they are crazy. Go ahead, indulge in insanity and laugh out loud! I can’t say enough good things about this book. I will say that if you have no interest in Japan, stay away from this book, because it’s brimming with hillarious japanese mis-adventure!


Margaret Atwood has a really fascinating aristic style to her writing. It’s unlike anything I’ve ever read. I did find this book anti-climactic. It just seemed like a series of events happening over and over, and then next thing I knew, I was out of pages. I think there’s some stuff I just wasn’t into deciphering though, which is why I was left scratching my head on this one. Atwood gracefully captures the feminine with this book. I’m actually going to pick up another Atwood book later on and give her another try.

On this note, I ask, does anyone have good suggestions for books? I’m going to try and maintain my pace on getting through books. Ultra Toast suggested The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time to me in the summer and I thought it was fantastic! Anyone read anything super fantastic lately?

9 Responses to “Bookworm! (Let’s go to the library…!)”


  1. 1 Xrayeagle January 17, 2006 at 2:17 am

    Sadly no, I only read nerd books

    😦

  2. 2 Joe January 17, 2006 at 2:49 pm

    I’ve read a lot of things, but nothing super fantastic. In fact, these days I’m more relieved when I’m done with a book than disappointed it’s over. Never a good sign.

    Let me think for a few minutes…

  3. 3 Okami January 17, 2006 at 3:09 pm

    Thanks for the review on “Hitching Rides with Buddha”. I saw it last weekend, and was really tempted to pick it up – now I will. I had never encountered the Brooks book, but it sounds like something worth picking up too.

    Um…I may need a couple of minutes too to try and come up with some ideas. The last round of books that I revisited was my Neal Stephenson mini collection.

  4. 4 Okami January 17, 2006 at 3:42 pm

    …You could borrow the books from my Hinduism and Buddism classes if you would like. One of them is a really nice book of poetry from a young woman who was in love with a deity.

    Let me know if you are interested.

  5. 5 Deidre January 17, 2006 at 4:32 pm

    ….lets see……I think you might like The Legacy of Luna by Julia Butterfly Hill. Its the woman who lived in a tree for two or three years.

  6. 6 sandra January 17, 2006 at 5:27 pm

    I have no recommendations, sadly, because since I stopped hanging out at Chapters/Starbucks because I no longer know people there I have no one to recommend books to ME.

    Can I borrow Candace’s book from you? It sounds interesting.

  7. 7 Okami January 17, 2006 at 8:57 pm

    One that I happened across some time ago was “Illusions – The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah” by Richard Bach. It’s good for a quick read and a fun viewpoint.

  8. 8 Deidre January 18, 2006 at 5:19 am

    I haven’t read it, but its stories about my people. Its called Putting A Song On Top of It by David Samuels. He studied our culture and became good friends of my uncle who was a well known biliguist. I’m mentioned in the book.

  9. 9 Anonymous January 18, 2006 at 6:06 pm

    if you’re intrested in Japanese culture, I highly suggest reading SHOGUN, not only because it’s about Japan, but it’s also the most kick-ass book I’ve ever read. Seriously. It blows Harry Potter out of the water like 9 1/2 times.


Leave a Reply

January 2006
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

