Steve Squared and the Bell Orchestre

What a delightful Friday to have!

After an early, deadly shift I spent my afternoon napping like a cat to recover from the 4am wakeup I had to make. I had to recover some lost sleep so that I could see The Bell Orchestre in concert! For some bizarre reason the concert was to begin at 11pm sharp (as the ticket stated), so I had to be well-rested.

I began my evening with Steve V., one half of Steve Squared. We drove to Boston Pizza for drinks and some fine Italian stereotype food. Meeting up with the second half of Steve Squared (Steve R.), we were good to go. S Squared ate a pizza that had more animal on it than a farmer crushed by a dairy cow, while I enjoyed some vegetarian delight (including a $2.95 bowl of guacamole that finally was worthy of the price).

Later in the evening I ordered what can only be described as a watered-down snifter full of 1/2 oz. of Bailey’s, some coffe grounds, whipped cream and a cherry. Jesse met up with us for a while and ordered a drink that my sister would be sure to love, Purple Rain.

Wasting time as thoroughly as we could before the 11pm sharp start time, we looked at our watches only to see that it was 10:30 and we hadn’t even gotten the bill yet! We put the pedal to the medal and tried to motor out. Steve V. came rushing back to the table after visiting the bank machine, looking excited…

“We have to get out of here RIGHT NOW.”

“What? What happened?”

“Some douche just took out $200 from the bank machine and dropped one of his $20 bills!”

He threw the mysterious $20 on the table to cover the last part of our bill and we were out of there faster than a bunny in heat.

We parked a few blocks away from the venue in a parkade that lays claim to a stairwell known affectionately as “the pee hallway.” Sadly I ended up parking on the opposite side, so no pee aromas for us.

We ran blocks to get to the show on time, passing by a street light shaking so much it must have been dancing in excitement for the upcoming wonderful concert.

Thankfully Steve V. managed to get us glorious seats together for the show with only minutes to spare! Ah, it is indeed lovely to sit in a crowd of people you know you’d be able to hang out with.

The band emerged all in white, with white lights placed under their clothing. It looked like five angels descended to rock the house with some avantegard (sp?) tunes. They played until 12:30am with as much energy as they had when I saw them for the first time a year ago at The Banff Centre while I was on vacation. Something about this group has made each of the frou performances I’ve seen of them over the past year exquisite and unique. They play with such passion and energy, and not once does someone sing on a track.

Using such eclectic objects as instruments as a typewriter and a wet cloth, I was again thrilled with the performance. Oh what a little bit of culture can’t do to make a gal smile.

I finally got my paws on a copy of their elusive CD and spoke with a few members of the band.

Absolutely fantastic evening.

3 Responses to “Steve Squared and the Bell Orchestre”


  1. 1 PIE! January 7, 2006 at 8:09 pm

    I’m so jealous you got to see them. I can’t even see them tonight, and it’s their last performance…

    But glad to hear about your awesome times!

  2. 2 Xrayeagle January 7, 2006 at 11:27 pm

    That’s all cool. But did I read it wrong or did you guys steal from someone?

  3. 3 Blondie January 8, 2006 at 5:01 am

    Awesome! I’m glad you totally had fun!! Xray they were merely CAPITALIZING on the fact that the guy was stupid.

    Stupid people deserve it.


Leave a Reply

January 2006
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

