"Penguins don’t have fur!"

Can you believe that the above statement was something that had to be revealed to my mother at our New Years Day dinner just a few short hours ago? Her and my step-dad watched March of the Penguins last night for New Years Eve and there were parts where the feathers of the bird looked like fur because it was so fluffy. As my mom discusses how se can’t believe that penguins could grow fur, my boyfriend generously offers his knowledge to help clear the confusion:

“Penguins don’t have fur…”

That’s right folks! Did you know that birds, in fact, do NOT have the ability to grow fur?!

On another note, New Years Eve was an absolute delight. After spending the night at work, I drove to The Drum & Monkey to meet Steve and friends. I rang in 2006 with Jesse, Ben, Ben’s girlfriend, and one of Jesse’s friends. I then proceeded to usher mmy drunken partiers to my vehicle, where I jammed to many people into my car, reminding me of several high school escapades. We stopped at quite possibly the most disgusting pizza and samosas that were ever invented. I think Ben’s observation that “this pizza is so bad it makes baby Jesus cry” really captured the culinary talents of the chef.

We all ended up at Dan’s house for a friendly, yet extremely competitive game of Trivial Pursuit Pop Culture. Excellent times. I enjoyed how many hugs and good wishes were exchanged. Absolutely delightful times.

9 Responses to “"Penguins don’t have fur!"”


  1. 1 rad steveness January 2, 2006 at 10:22 pm

    I was waiting for someone else to say it.
    I mean seriously.
    Bird can’t grow fur.
    One of the traits of that genus is that fact they growth feathers.
    That was a wierd moment

  2. 2 tjam January 3, 2006 at 12:15 am

    Welcome to our world everyone. Lmizzle neglected to mention the other big supper discussion that is still going on from last year is what is the deciding factor on whether a garment is a shirt or a sweater???

  3. 3 Ultra Toast Mosha God January 3, 2006 at 10:39 am

    This I did not know.

    Monkey is always showering me with facts of this nature.

  4. 4 Joe January 3, 2006 at 8:47 pm

    Now why can’t they have Trivial Pursuit questions like that?

  5. 5 Doug Murata January 3, 2006 at 9:16 pm

    My wife doesn’t eat mammals. When I tell people this, they usually say “but you said she’ll eat chicken!” I then have to explain to them that chickens do not grow fur, do not produce milk for their offspring, and do not give live birth. Then they look at me like I don’t know what I’m talking about.

  6. 6 Xrayeagle January 4, 2006 at 3:59 am

    I exclusively eat mammals. You know, cows, pigs, people, the basics!

  7. 7 rad steveness January 4, 2006 at 7:22 am

    I only eat amphibians

    secret password: qguiebfc

  8. 8 Ultra Toast Mosha God January 4, 2006 at 10:40 am

    I eat nearly anything of nutritional value.

  9. 9 Doug Murata January 4, 2006 at 6:43 pm

    xray, I also eat an abundance of mammals. However, I also take my carbs. I like to think of myself as an Atkins dieter who eats carbs, too.


Leave a Reply

January 2006
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter


