Measures of Madness

The world is so fucked up. Here I sit in a crowded coffee shop, secretly listening to a couple on the verge of breaking up, and on the other side of them, another couple on a first date. They are both painful conversations to listen to. The break-up couple is speaking of 13 years together and not listening to one another, the other couple speaks in giggles and nonsense.

“You are TELLING me how I feel and what I am doing wrong. You aren’t listening to me!”
“Yes I am, but you aren’t listening to me!”

vs.

“What’s your favorite milkshake?!”
Giggle, giggle

Agh.

This makes the world seem like quite an unusual place.

In another strange turn of events, I was just approached by two people asking if they could sit at my table with me. Now I literally trapped in a corner, closed in by the couple that are on a date, and three other people who are now sitting at my table having a casual conversation. The strangest thing is that the guy who asked me if these people could sit with me came back to the table in the middle of ordering and said, “Since we are joining your table, would you like anything?”
Whaaaaa? How strange and yet genuinely nice at the same time…

7 Responses to “Measures of Madness”


  1. 1 Xrayeagle November 30, 2005 at 7:41 am

    I am listening to you

    and I think its chocolate.

    I’m a simple kinda guy.

  2. 2 Ultra Toast Mosha God November 30, 2005 at 9:22 am

    It’s like being stretched out across an emotional snare dream, with your hands tied at one side, and your feet tied at the other, and somebody whacking you with a stick at all points in between.

  3. 3 Squiggle November 30, 2005 at 11:23 am

    How thoughtful. I want to emigrate. Polite people AND SNOW!

  4. 4 Joe November 30, 2005 at 4:21 pm

    Sounds like all the makings of sitcom heaven, L.

  5. 5 Doug Murata November 30, 2005 at 7:04 pm

    So, did you order anything?

    I’m sure he was listening to you, so you should have asked for your favourite milkshake.

  6. 6 Trevor Record November 30, 2005 at 7:58 pm

    I don’t mind the first-date conversations, they usually make me smile.

  7. 7 sandra December 1, 2005 at 3:03 am

    I had a dude at Higher Ground ask me if I wanted a glass of wine once.

    Considering I was in the midst of studying Organic Chemistry, I thought that was rather comical.


Leave a Reply

November 2005
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

