So I gave the dogs whipped cream…

And it was pretty much everything I thought it was going to be.

Messy

Funny

Snorty

Barky

Oh the sweet love of driving your dogs crazy with mainly all sugar!

On another doggie note, does anyone know how we can get Winston to roll over?  I put Steve in charge of teaching this to Winston (because he wants to outshine his brother’s new dog at Christmas), but he can’t seem to convince Winston to do it.  We can get him to sit, and then lay down, but I can’t get him to roll onto his hip, and when Steve tries to *lovingly* roll him over, we get this reaction that kind of says, “HOLY SHIT WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU DOING ARE YOU TRYING TO KILL ME…..ahhh, I am right-side up again.”

We can’t even convince him with food.  FOOD!  THAT’S THE ONLY THING THAT WORKS!!!  If he won’t do it for food, I mean, what the hell can we use?  I mean, I waved a $20 bill in front of him, but he didn’t seem to want that either.

Maybe I should show him a photo of a dog in heat??

10 Responses to “So I gave the dogs whipped cream…”


  1. 1 katylo October 31, 2007 at 5:37 am

    I know that “holy shit are you trying to kill me?!” look well. I have no clue how to get dogs to roll over, but you might want to ask Michele, Ruby’s Mom. I *think* Ruby can do it, but I’m not sure.

    I’ll dress Suki up in some sexy lingerie and send you a picture. Maybe that will help!

  2. 2 Goodboy Norman Featherstone October 31, 2007 at 6:39 am

    Norman hates roll over too. We have to bribe him with a treat and push him over by pressing his “button” on his shoulder. Still, he only makes it over about 20% of the time. Good luck!

  3. 3 Chris Sheppard October 31, 2007 at 9:02 am

    The whipped cream makes your babies look like they have rabbies. I think it would make for a sweet Halloween costume. (pun intended.)

  4. 4 Christine October 31, 2007 at 9:18 am

    We taught Giggs by just pushing him over and lots of treats.

    We put him on his back a lot when we play so it wasn’t a huge deal. Now he can roll over but only on carpet and he’ll only roll to his right. He can’t got left :)

    It’s a bit embarrassing in obedience when we tell him ‘down’ and he immediately goes into a ‘roll over’ expecting a treat. It’s a sloppy half-ass roll too because the floor is hard. lol More like a bum twirl.

  5. 5 Jess October 31, 2007 at 10:16 am

    Haha… great whipped cream pictures. I haven’t tried getting Clover to roll over yet… but food is usually the only thing that works for her too. Sorry I can’t help!

  6. 6 All Mod Cons October 31, 2007 at 10:37 am

    I REALLY wish you’d taken a video of them and the cream! I bet it would’ve been a total peach!

  7. 7 Timothy D November 1, 2007 at 8:33 am

    Gracie learned “roll over” in multiple steps… first Winston’s got to know “down” (I guess pretty obvious). Then you start putting the treat behind his ear. If he makes any motion to stand up, take the treat away *immediately.* If he turns his head to watch the treat, give it to him (with praise). Once you’re sure he’s not going to get up anymore, he doesn’t get the treat until he rolls onto his hip (but he doesn’t have to roll over). This is the big step and can be tough to get past. Just keep trying, and if Winston won’t do it several times in a row, go back to the previous step where he can succeed (it’s all about a positive outlook!). Once you’re sure he’ll get down onto his hip every time, start using the treat (in your hand, a few inches above him and mid-way down his back) to ‘guide’ him over – first just onto his back, then when you know he’ll go on his back, start trying for all the way over. Our trainer also said you shouldn’t use the words until you’re sure he’ll do the trick 99% of the time with the hand motion – then you can start transition from motion+words to just words. Another thing I can suggest is what our trainer called ‘puppy crack.’ We use “Pet Botanics” dog food for her treats – it comes in the form of a big sausage (several brand names are out there, all seem to work equally well for Gracie) and is actually sold with the food, not treats. You have to cut it into little pieces, and you have to freeze/refrigerate the parts you don’t use, but she’ll do anything for her puppy crack. Hope this helps!

  8. 8 doozywhoop November 1, 2007 at 10:42 pm

    Wow, that is probably the best descriptor I’ve ever seen! I love it, I will start doing this right away, thanks so much!!!

  9. 9 make money online without money June 29, 2013 at 3:33 am

    When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added”
    checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get three e-mails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Cheers!

  10. 10 latin ballroom shoes June 30, 2013 at 9:55 pm

    In fact no matter if someone doesn’t be aware of after that its up to other users that they will assist, so here it takes place.


Leave a Reply

October 2007
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

hemlock tee









More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

